Finding my roots back - Reisverslag uit Fort Bragg, Verenigde Staten van Sandra Maes - WaarBenJij.nu Finding my roots back - Reisverslag uit Fort Bragg, Verenigde Staten van Sandra Maes - WaarBenJij.nu

Finding my roots back

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sandra

03 Juli 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Fort Bragg

Hellooooo my sweet tortillas,



This morning, when I was doing my daily yoga practice at 5.30am, I was thinking that it was about time to update you all of how I am doing here. It has been some days that I posted my last story, but the only reason for that is that my schedule is so filled that I barely have free time left.

But I am looking forward to share my experiences with you, because to be honest... There is so much to tell :).

The decision to inscribe myself for this education, was the best one I could ever make.
I finally, finally, finally found myself and my roots back. For years, I looked for something that could fill in the amazing feeling I got from being on stage. I always thought that nothing could replace it, but yesterday I found my déjà-vu...
I had the assignment to prepare my first live demonstration for the class. I picked a little paper out of a box with recipes and chose „Sesame Sea Palm with Kelp Noodles”.
So funny, because before I actually got it, I told my friend that I hoped not to be first… But the universe decided: the recipe I took was the first one on the list. Haha, so great!
I was happy that I was obliged to get over my fear, and to find away to deal with it.
We also got an assistant (a colleague from class) that had to help us out during the preparation of the demo and during the demo itself.
So I took my time to figure out how to prepare myself: what I wanted to say, how to schedule all my work, how to communicate my assistant’s job, how to plate my recipe and how to present it.
Lots to do and to think about… But god, I LOVE to make my brain cells work and to challenge myself!

So I worked my ass off and did research about my recipe (and ingredients), I almost locked myself up, used my free time to be the biggest nerd on earth - just kidding - because I was happy to be able to do something alone.
I had the idea to make own name tags for me and my assistant to clip on our coat, instead of the ones from school. I named it „Sandragoesraw” and pretended it was the name of my own business. Besides that, I asked Ana, a friend of mine and graphic designer, to help me out with creating business cards.
For the plating, I got inspired by the sea vegetables that were the main ingredients of my recipe. So I succeeded to transform my plate into a mini beach, including a fresh sea palm and eatable orange flower. To imitate the sand, I used Rapadura (brown sugar).

I actually wasn’t so nervous for my demo, surprisingly, but the moment I had to go backstage in the kitchen 20min before ‚showtime’, I started to feel the stress. It had sooooooo much similarities with the way I was feeling backstage before a dance performance.
I have to say that there was a nice atmosphere in the kitchen, and they were very supportive.
But the moment I started my demo, every little stress I had faded away. It was amazing to be out there demonstrating and trying to inspire others and educate them. It felt GREAT !!!!

So I was extremely happy on how relaxed I felt out there and got very positive feedback after being finished.
I can totally see myself teaching, educating people, coaching, guiding them through healthy decisions, giving lectures, etc. I cannot wait to start on my own and follow my personal instincts and believes!

Being away feels liberating in a way. I could easily take my backpack and start traveling after the education is finished. :)


Anyway, what I would like you to remember is, that if you have a dream and you see yourself achieving it, it actually WILL work. Don’t ever loose faith and trust in yourself and your believes.
Because you all are worth having patience, good health and your dreams coming true!


Amen :),


Lots of love,
Sandra

  • 03 Juli 2014 - 11:58

    Saartje:

    Heel mooi & positief verslag meid!
    Dit bevestigd nog maar eens mijn geloof & vertrouwen in jou.
    Na al die tijd van strijden, merk ik dat je eindelijk iets gevonden hebt waar je je hart & ziel in legt.
    ZALIG om dot als trotse zus te mogen volgen.

    Keep up the good work!

    By the Way, je mooie woorden op het einde van je verslag zal ik zeker in gedachten houden.

    Dikke kus xxx

  • 03 Juli 2014 - 18:18

    Floor:

    Wauuuuuwww!!! Wat mooi om dit te lezen!
    En wat ben ik blij voor je dat je hier zoveel geluk, inspiratie en energie uit haalt!
    Haha, ik moet lachen om je gevonden vrijheid daar en dat je zou kunnen gaan backpacken. Weet je nog dat ik je toen op mijn reis door AU/NZ een berichtje stuurde dat ik steeds aan je moest denken? Toen dacht ik ook al, Sandra zou hier net zoveel vrijheid, rust en geluk in vinden als ik. Als je de kans hebt: DOEN!!
    Zet 'm op meis, dikke kuss voor jou x x x

  • 03 Juli 2014 - 21:50

    Marleen Vandermueren:

    Nu mag iedereen het weten en lezen : als je dochter je op een bepaald moment zegt : Mama, IK BEN GELUKKIG. Dan ben je toch de gelukkigste moeder van HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEL de wereld, of niet ???????
    En dan maakt het echt voor mij niet uit wat ze doet,... maar wat ze dan doet is GOED en voelt JUIST aan.
    Dikke kus lieve schat !!!!!!

  • 13 Juli 2014 - 21:20

    Lawrence:

    Awesome Sandra,
    So Happy for you :) It sound so inspiring your story. Picture please of that Sesame Sea Palm with Kelp Noodles, cause you made me crave for that.

    Lots of luck and happy times to come.

    Love Law & Myna.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sandra

Actief sinds 17 Mei 2014
Verslag gelezen: 372
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6949

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Juni 2014 - 15 September 2014

Living Light Culinary Institute

Landen bezocht: