Highlight of my first week at Living Light! - Reisverslag uit Fort Bragg, Verenigde Staten van Sandra Maes - WaarBenJij.nu Highlight of my first week at Living Light! - Reisverslag uit Fort Bragg, Verenigde Staten van Sandra Maes - WaarBenJij.nu

Highlight of my first week at Living Light!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sandra

21 Juni 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Fort Bragg

Heloooow!

Already one week past... Wauw! It went extremely fast, but on the other hand I feel that I did SO much on seven days, you could compare it with knowledge you get during a year, I got now on one week.
Very effective. But I am having the time of my life... Just you know ;-).

My highlight of the week, was making the Cabbage Kraut. In fact, I already knew how I had to make it, but I am happy that they showed us how to do it, so the evening after that class, I went to the supermarket and bought my white cabbage and salt.
For the people that don't know what Cabbage Kraut is: it is a probiotic food, it is fermented, high in calcium / magnesium and vitamin C/B/K, low in calories, extremely healthy for your body and SO easy!
You just need two ingredients: white and/or red cabbage and salt. That's it. Easy, isn't it?
I never liked Cabbage Kraut before, because I found it very sour and the fact that they serve it with sausages didn't make me want to eat it.
Especially my father really likes it and I am sure that if he tried this Cabbage Kraut, he would never want to have another anymore! It is soooooooo jummie!!!
I will add the recipe and explanation in a new report if you would like to try it at home.

Every morning, I go for a walk or run and that is actually my best time of the day. It is magical: in the morning, it is so quiet, everybody is still sleeping and I get so 'powered' from the silence.
Incredible!
I normally always run to the beach and see the sun rising up.
Afterwards, I run back home and so yoga in the garden. The air here is also cold in the morning but nothing compared to Belgium. It is so fresh, it fills my lungs and I get so energized.
A good way of meditation and to start my day on myself.
Well... I thought so, until I suddenly saw a DEER running away in our garden. I thought I was still sleepy and dreaming, but I was so fast to take a picture and got the confirmation it wasn't a bad dream ;-).

This blog is for me a way to share with you my development and experiences in the raw vegan healthy lifestyle, but also to let you know how I develop as a person.
I would like to keep it human, and not only - what the most social utilities do - pretend that it is always going good!
Because on thursday, I had a dip... We had to make up a dressing and soup in our head, and had to realize it the day after in class.
We had to make sure that all the flavors were well balanced and that in total we had 4 cups of liquid.
In total we have 6 working stations, with different groups. For every stations, there was one recipe of dressing that was picked out. For my group, mine dressing "DILLicious Salad Dressing" was chosen.
I was not so much satisfied with the result, I challenged myself to make a healthy green dressing without nuts and sweets, so not the easiest way! Anyway, I had a difficult group who put a lot of pressure on me, they were insecure and I felt that it was a time contest. Which reminded me a lot of dancing. Also afterwards, when everybody tasted it and not totally like it, I felt failed. You know me, I always want to do it right and good, so it was a learning process.
The way the school makes dressings, is not always the way I would do it. So that is sometimes a struggle.
But I let my tears go, tried to accept my experience and kept on remembering what I learned from it. Every experience is a learning process!
My roommate, Noëlle, is from France and had a walk with me after that school day. She is great! She is on the pictures with blew glasses on the beach, and with short blond hair.

So the day after I felt muuuuuuch better, I went to sleep the evening before at 22h so I felt fresh.
My brain got some oxygen, rest and perfect to make my exam!
It went good, I passed. Joepie Jeuj :-).


And after the effort, come the rest: BEACH TIME!!!!
Finally, on Friday, we had the afternoon off so we could spend time at the beach.
And honestly: we chose the best day of the week. It was amazing!
Sun was shining, the sky was blue and the temperature was great.
We relaxed on the beach, did some acro yoga and had a walk.
In the evening, we went with the whole group to the restaurant to get to know each other more. Because during the week, there is no time for it. We are just nerds that are studying, reading and making homework.
But I don't mind, because that is what I came for. So you don't here me complaining :-).


Anyway, this weekend I have two days off, so I finally could have time to send you all a long message and I will study and rewrite my notes.
We also got the lecture already for next week, so I will pre read in advance to be sure I am prepared :).



I hope everybody is doing well, I send you all lots of love and will write to you very soon!



Big hug,
SandRaw =)
XXX

  • 21 Juni 2014 - 23:36

    Papa:

    Dag lieveke,

    Leuk dit allemaal te lezen. Ik lees/voel dat je écht aan het genieten bent. Prachtig is dat.
    Doe verder zoals je bezig bent, je zult er je leven lang de vruchten van meedragen

    Ik geloof ook meer en meer dat raw de voeding van de volgende generaties wordt : het is het logische gevolg van onze overconsumptie.

    Dus : you're on the wright track babe.
    I love you soooooooooooo much.

    Dikke, héééééél dikke kus


  • 22 Juni 2014 - 11:15

    Saartje:

    Hey mie,

    Echt een heel leuk verslag & supermooie foto's!
    Het verwondert mij ook helemaal niet dat je in je eerste examen bent geslaagd.
    Als jij namelijk aan iets begint, doe je dit met volle overgave & dat is een kwaliteit van je dat ik alleen maar bewonder.
    Als het je even niet gaat, laat je gevoelens dan maar de vrije loop, het kan nadien alleen maar beter gaan.

    Hier gaat alles zijn gewone gangetje.
    Zoals gezegd, probeer ik je vanavond even op te bellen.

    Dikke kus -xxx-

  • 23 Juni 2014 - 16:31

    Marleen Vandermueren:

    He Bollie,

    Toffe lektuur , voor mezelf een aangenaam intermezzo als het even wat TE stressie wordt.
    Kan ik even mijn gedachten laten wegdromen naar het zonnige SF.
    Leuk dat je het naar je zin hebt maar daar heb ik nog geen seconde aan getwijfeld.
    Ik vind ook vooral je foto's leuk en je gezelschap lijkt me ook best oké !
    Vooral je room mate lijkt me echt een toffe madame !
    Love you schattebol, go for it en tot de volgende sessie en tot op de facetime!
    Dikke knuffel !

    mama

  • 26 Juni 2014 - 12:47

    Chantal:

    Salut Sandra,

    J'ai pris plaisir à te lire. Ca a vraiment l'air génial et moi qui ne fais pas de jogging, j'ai presque envie de chausser mes baskets...Je ressens les impressions que tu décris quand tu cours le matin au bord de la mer. Ca a l'air tellement sain et énergisant !
    On sent que tu rayonnes de bonheur dans ton message et que tu aimes ce que tu fais, tant pour tes cours que pour la nature qui t'entoure.
    Je te souhaite de vivre encore plein de moments magiques !
    Bisous
    Chantal.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sandra

Actief sinds 17 Mei 2014
Verslag gelezen: 237
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6947

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Juni 2014 - 15 September 2014

Living Light Culinary Institute

Landen bezocht: