Green paradise! - Reisverslag uit Fort Bragg, Verenigde Staten van Sandra Maes - WaarBenJij.nu Green paradise! - Reisverslag uit Fort Bragg, Verenigde Staten van Sandra Maes - WaarBenJij.nu

Green paradise!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sandra

16 Juni 2014 | Verenigde Staten, Fort Bragg

Hi lovely people,


I am only here for about three days but it feels so much longer. I have the feeling I have SO much to tell you all.
There is lots to see, to experiment, to feel, to taste, ... Amazing. Already now, I realize this is the best decision ever to come to the United States and join this education.

Anyway! The morning after I arrived in Fort Bragg, Zane and I decided to do some hot yoga. To sweat out the jetlag ;). And in fact, the place where the hot yoga was, is quite "far" for a walking distance and as we still had the hired car, we took advantage of it.
What a class! Very small room, not a lot of people
(but extremely friendly -- everybody here, my god) and SO great to wake up.

Afterwards, we went to the market to get some groceries.
And what an experience was that... AMAZING!!! I was totally blown away... Such a lot of variety, wauw!!
Nothing more pretty than a market full of pretty, healthy, clean and organic vegetable.
GREENS GREENS GREENS... EVERYWHERE!!! I didn't believe my eyes, I saw beautiful green vegetables that we totally don't have in Belgium, they look amazing and taste great.
For instance Basil: the leaves are extremely beautiful and big. Like a real plant. And the taste... extraordinary jummie!

After being overwhelmed in the food store, we went to the school to get registered. Finally the opportunity to meet the staff, to take the time to walk there and already get the recommended stuff we need.
Haha and yes... to choose and try on my own chef coat!
It took me some time to make my decision in the store, but now I am very happy with the red color and black/white head.
Let the showtime begin, my outfit is already ready for it :).

And the day after it was: SHOWTIME! First day to school... WAAAH!!
During a whole day, we had one lecture after the other. Kind of an 'introduction', but looooooots of information.
It is the only day that we would sit and watch, you would think it would be 'lay back and relax', but that wasn't it at all. We had to take notes, be very alert and as we got so much different lectures, there was always new info coming.
So interesting, I feel that all knowledge from one year in high school, I learned in one day.
My head was exploding at the end... I even felt that my brain cells started to 'sprout'. Haha :-).

When I came home, I spent the whole evening rewriting my notes to check the info we got that day and also going over an assignment we had to do.
So you see... I am not chilling and feeling bored here. But the people that now me: that is what I like the most!

This morning I stood up at 5.30 and went for a run. Niiiiicccceeeee, I ran to the beach, completely ALONE on the streets... Still a bit fresh, ideal weather to wake up and start my day with a fresh brain.
It does me very good and I made a commitment to myself that I will do it every day...
Today was a playful practical day about knife skills. Different cutting techniques, the anatomy of a knife, safety rules, types of knifes, garnishing, etc.
SO MUCH FUN !!!!! From making a rose out of a tomato, transforming a radish to a mushroom to dicing, sliding, mincing and chiffonade dino kale.
I felt like an artist, and was so calm by creating art out of food and being busy with my hands....



So I hope you all are doing well too!
I send you lots of love from Fort Bragg city and look forward to tell you more of my stories next time.



Big hug and love,
Sandra

  • 16 Juni 2014 - 08:23

    Marleen Vandermueren:

    He Bollie,
    Het is zo fijn te horen, te zien en te lezen hoe goed je het daar naar je zin hebt.
    Voor jouw het beste dat je nu kon overkomen maar voor ons ook. Jij krijgt hiervan elke dag een "boost"van jewelste maar wij ook.
    Dus iedereen gelukkig : yes !

    Diiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiikkeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee kus !!!!

  • 16 Juni 2014 - 09:00

    Marisa:

    Fantastisch Sandra, keep up the good spirit! Ik was ook zo 'blown away' van de groente keuzes en raw food in supermarkten en farmers markets. Wat een mogelijkheden he?
    Veel liefs!

  • 16 Juni 2014 - 10:54

    Je Middelste Zus:

    Hey mieke,

    Toen ik naar Amerika ging was ik al zo onder de indruk van het land & de mensen maar als ik jouw verslag lees, amai amai... Je bent nog geen week weg & je hebt het nu al zo naar je zin... Dat belooft voor het vervolg :-)

    In ieder geval ben ik superblij... Je merkt dat dit je echt deugd doet & zoals mama zegt dat dit je een enorme boost geeft. Daar kan ik alleen maar blij om zijn. Ook toen ik je gisteren op Facetime zag, zag je er zo relax & "zen" uit, dat ik er eventjes stil van werd :-)

    Hier gaat alles zijn gewone gangetje, niks nieuws onder de zon.

    Alé meisje, tot het volgende verslag é!
    Dikke kus van ons beiden

    -xxx-

  • 16 Juni 2014 - 11:58

    Saar:

    Hoi San!

    Maat, de euforie spat hier van het scherm, ik ben ZO blij voor u dat het u daarginds zo enorm bevalt :-) Geniet van de zon, de mensen, de omgeving, de lessen, ... ik kan niet wachten om zelf te vertrekken, uw enthousiasme werkt superaanstekelijk, haha :-D Superveel plezier en succes gewenst!!

    Saar x

  • 16 Juni 2014 - 22:15

    Floor:

    Aaaah Santje, wat een heerlijk bericht om te lezen. Je klinkt euforisch!!
    Wat super dat je hier zoveel energie van krijgt en je er zo'n happy gevoel van krijgt. Blij voor jou!
    Meisje, geniet, zo gegund!!

  • 16 Juni 2014 - 22:16

    Floor:

    en verdiend!!!

  • 16 Juni 2014 - 23:32

    Vero:

    Lieve San,

    Zo gaaf om te lezen dat je zo geniet en er helemaal in op gaat! Word helemaal blij van jouw blogs.
    Geniet ervan en zet hem op daar!
    X

  • 18 Juni 2014 - 07:32

    Olga:

    Reuze dat je er zo gelukkig bent en van geniet .
    Doe zo rustig verder . Een mooie tijd om nooit te vergeten ;-)
    Xxx

  • 19 Juni 2014 - 11:43

    Chantal:

    Heureuse de voir que tu t'éclates et que ça te plaît. Profites-en bien...Ca a l'air génial ! ;-)

  • 19 Juni 2014 - 21:32

    Buddy:

    Hello Buddy .Het ziet er allemaal fantastisch uit.Reizen en leren blijft de boodschap .Chantal en ik volgen je met veel plezier via je site. Blijf zoals je bent en geniet een max. Kus Buddy

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sandra

Actief sinds 17 Mei 2014
Verslag gelezen: 222
Totaal aantal bezoekers 6953

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Juni 2014 - 15 September 2014

Living Light Culinary Institute

Landen bezocht: